Can I Do What I Wanna Do ?

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X²: The Threat.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

BloodBarf
x2

Can I Do What I Wanna Do ?

Post by BloodBarf » Thu, 7. Jul 05, 16:06

So I've been playing for a few months now and I'm ready to try my hand at scripting / modding.

What I want to attempt is to alter a few ship parameters.

Increase the Nova's speed.
Allow M6s to carry M3s and TSs.
Mount G HEPTs in a Discoverer.

But I don't want any changes to apply to all ships, just my ships.

SO . . . . CAN I DO THIS ?

AND . . . DO I NEED TO SCRIPT OR MOD ?

grumman
x3tc

Re: Can I Do What I Wanna Do ?

Post by grumman » Thu, 7. Jul 05, 16:30

BloodBarf wrote:Increase the Nova's speed.
Yes, there are a number of ways to do this. The easiest would be to just script in extra Engine Tunings to your ship, after you buy one. If you take this approach, it will not affect the AI's ships.
Allow M6s to carry M3s and TSs.
No. The obj hack can be used to let M6s carry M3s, but not TSs. If this is sufficient, you would need to make a mod. This would apply to all ships, but the AI will not take advantage of it.
Mount G HEPTs in a Discoverer.
Yes, but you would need to give the Discoverer sufficient cargo space and size first. This would be done using a mod, that changes the TShips file. It would apply to all ships, but the AI again would not take advantage of it.
Grumman - killjoy extraordinaire

ShadowX
x2

Post by ShadowX » Thu, 7. Jul 05, 16:47

grumman wrote:It would apply to all ships, but the AI again would not take advantage of it.
If you give enough cargo space and ability to mount GHepts, AI will use them(note: ships created or spawned after changing).

grumman
x3tc

Post by grumman » Thu, 7. Jul 05, 17:06

ShadowX wrote:If you give enough cargo space and ability to mount GHepts, AI will use them(note: ships created or spawned after changing).