[MOD] Capital Ship Bridge

The place to discuss scripting and game modifications for X Rebirth.

Moderators: Moderators for English X Forum, Scripting / Modding Moderators

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Tue, 16. Sep 14, 21:32

Litauen wrote:1. Long corridor as in station - easy to make, poor immersion, because short corridor feels bad on huge ship, long corridor - too boring to use every time
2. Stairs + corridor - lame
3. Working elevator as in some levels which you need to press - super lame, looks crappy
4. Elevator with magic button which would teleport player to the bridge - button is easy, teleportation - no idea how to make it happen, great immersion (maybe I can play some video during 'teleportation' also)

I searched through basic and md functions but could not find a way to move player from one place to another on the same station/platform. Some pointers from devs would help.
corridors are no good idea if you have a full view around, except you want to do some complicated stuff (the Space around the Landing Platform is considered as skybox (even the Ship the Player is currently on), therefore the parts of the Platform and the corridors are always visible, even if they should be hidden by the geometry) - that approach will look weird.
additionally you have to make it individually for each and every Ship, which is much work..

i would use approach 3 or 4 (or a combination of both) - or for the beginning add the Bridge as second Landing Platform on every ship, because the Platform replacement is weird on Rahanas-Line Ships :D

for how to teleport the player: i think <warp object="player.entity" zone="$room" /> could work (or alternatively experiment with <add_actor_to_platform />), if we find out how to get a specific Room in a variable. problem there is that they dont exist if not needed..
here how they got a room/dock in the Plot as reference:

Code: Select all

            <find_dock_location name="$DV_CanteranSec__Home_Station_Dock" container="$DV_CanteranSec__Home_Station" freemissionactorslot="true" required="true"/>
            <set_value name="$DV_CanteranSec__Home_Station_Dock_Component" exact="$DV_CanteranSec__Home_Station_Dock.component"/>
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

Ebron
Posts: 276
Joined: Thu, 13. Mar 08, 20:41
x4

Post by Ebron » Tue, 16. Sep 14, 21:56

If possible I would try to add one of those train you see outside the stations.
On a 3 or more km long ship I think is perfectly reasonable to have a train that transport personell from one point to the other.
Making it move while the player is inside would be probably be difficult so maybe just teleporting the player to the final station while pressing a consolle on the train would work better.

User avatar
Litauen
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri, 22. Nov 13, 21:09
xr

Post by Litauen » Tue, 16. Sep 14, 23:00

Workplace. Will add monitors later.

[ external image ]

User avatar
Nikola515
Posts: 3190
Joined: Fri, 4. May 12, 07:40
x4

Post by Nikola515 » Tue, 16. Sep 14, 23:08

This is just idea. But what if you add menu when docking to ship.

1)Dock to bridge- And you get automatically teleported to bridge.

2)Dock to hangar- And get docked to Skunk docking area.
Or something like that .....
This way if someone don't want walk around ship they can teleport to that location.
It's not world hunger because we can't feed poor,it's because there will never be enough to feed the rich .....

User avatar
NZ-Wanderer
Posts: 1623
Joined: Thu, 5. Aug 04, 01:57
x4

Post by NZ-Wanderer » Tue, 16. Sep 14, 23:10

Definitely need the bridge in other places on some ships tho, I landed on the Arawn last night for a looksee, and it kinda looks wierd having the bridge where it is and still have the sides of the ship showing outside the window :lol:

As for moving player from landing platform to bridge, what about just having a teleport pad in the landing bay which if stepped on takes the player straight to the bridge, that way no corridors or elevators.
Link to the list of Mods working in X4-Foundations and also Link to the list of Mods working in X-Rebirth

NOTE: I play with a modded game, so any reports I make outlining suggestions/problems/bugs/annoyances, are made with mods installed and running.

Phipsz
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon, 23. Apr 12, 23:56
x4

Post by Phipsz » Tue, 16. Sep 14, 23:31

I guess the teleport platform has the same issues as a elevator, except the elevator would be more immersive :roll: Of course it would be pretty awesome to be able to move around the ship, be it just from hangar to bridge by elevator.
But I have an idea how it may be solved for now... I don't know if it would actually work, but could you move the bridge to another place on the ship but keep the dockingport where it is? (if you know what i mean)

User avatar
Freeman_79
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue, 28. Aug 07, 03:31
xr

Post by Freeman_79 » Wed, 17. Sep 14, 04:21

Damn Litauen, nice work, and Egosoft said it wasent likely they will do cap_bridges anytime soon, but you cracked the nut, you deserve a job at Egosoft :)

User avatar
Earth Ultimatum IV.
Posts: 5280
Joined: Mon, 3. May 10, 14:39
x4

Post by Earth Ultimatum IV. » Wed, 17. Sep 14, 13:30

There already are some lifts in interiors.
Maybe they could be re-modelled, and reworked a little bit?
I don't think that a capship bridge would be that hard to make for Egosoft.

Ynesra
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat, 17. May 14, 01:13

Post by Ynesra » Wed, 17. Sep 14, 22:06


Vim Razz
Posts: 1842
Joined: Tue, 2. Nov 10, 02:20
x4

Post by Vim Razz » Wed, 17. Sep 14, 22:49

Ynesra wrote:About form and scale...

http://steamcommunity.com/id/920312/scr ... 1280287395
Those sorts of refinements can come in time, and will vary from ship to ship.

The real priority at this stage is to establish a working prototype to play around with and learn what works and what doesn't in terms of structuring the code and assets, what tools and resources are needed to make things work, how different ideas or arrangements affect gameplay interaction, and so on.

Once that template has reached a mature enough stage, then other folks might be able to help fill out the particular variations needed for different varieties of ship. It's too much work to expect one person to do everything.


In the meantime? sure it's a bit awkward from the back of a Taranis if you really think about it, but even if you match the Taranis perfectly then it's still going to look awkward from the deck of a Rahanas....

If you've got some particular design ideas that you'd like to explore, the tools and resources used in the development of this mod so far can be found in this thread.

User avatar
Litauen
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri, 22. Nov 13, 21:09
xr

Post by Litauen » Thu, 18. Sep 14, 17:55

Thank you guys for great input.

Update: 1.10 Workplaces with monitors

[ external image ]

@NZ-Wanderer - I will change default locations of landing platforms on all ships to have better view.

User avatar
Earth Ultimatum IV.
Posts: 5280
Joined: Mon, 3. May 10, 14:39
x4

Post by Earth Ultimatum IV. » Thu, 18. Sep 14, 18:13

Epic work :)

Peter Hull
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun, 15. Feb 04, 22:55
x3tc

Post by Peter Hull » Thu, 18. Sep 14, 19:43

I got a real shock seeing all those monitors, Fantastic :)

Is there anyway to have the crew standing near the seats? I tried moving them in the save file, but they re-spawn to original positions if you re-dock

User avatar
Miniding
Posts: 937
Joined: Fri, 14. Dec 07, 11:33
x4

Post by Miniding » Thu, 18. Sep 14, 20:41

Very very very nice work dude!!!!! It's awsome to see your bridge and the latest one with monitors... just wonderdull!!!

I'm sad I can't help you with coding as my XML level is close to your first hour in a dev school.... I can read it, quite understand it but I don't have the mind to be helpfull...

Anyway I keep a close eye on your work (as Ego should like they did for NESA...) and will report back my impressions and ideas...

No stress but you got gold in your hands here!!

Best regards
Miniding
X3 Reunion - X3 Terran Conflict - X3 Albion Prelude - X Rebirth - X4 CE...

Ynesra
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat, 17. May 14, 01:13

Post by Ynesra » Fri, 19. Sep 14, 12:34

Great work! IMHO, the bridge should be a bit darker, like Skunks cockpit.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Fri, 19. Sep 14, 12:42

Looks fantastic.

If at some point you are feeling in a silly mood, might I suggest something like this as an alternative? :D

(I'm not really serious - it was just something I thought of when looking at the curves of the consoles and the roundness of the room)

[ external image ]

UniTrader
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Moderator (Script&Mod)
Posts: 14571
Joined: Sun, 20. Nov 05, 22:45
x4

Post by UniTrader » Fri, 19. Sep 14, 12:43

Ynesra wrote:Great work! IMHO, the bridge should be a bit darker, like Skunks cockpit.
thats one of the reasons EGO has not yet implemented a Bridge: they have some problems with the Shadows, the Sun / light is always shining inside there (the other reason is they dont want to just add some meshes, but want to add some functionality there you dont have on the Landing pad, too (like useable Control Pannels for example)
if not stated otherwise everything i post is licensed under WTFPL

Ich mache keine S&M-Auftragsarbeiten, aber wenn es fragen gibt wie man etwas umsetzen kann helfe ich gerne weiter ;)

I wont do Script&Mod Request work, but if there are questions how to do something i will GLaDly help ;)

User avatar
Litauen
Posts: 193
Joined: Fri, 22. Nov 13, 21:09
xr

Post by Litauen » Fri, 19. Sep 14, 13:15

@Peter Hull
Is there anyway to have the crew standing near the seats?
Yes, will do that.

@Ynesra
IMHO, the bridge should be a bit darker, like Skunks cockpit.
Will try to remove "omni" records from the XML file, maybe these are lights and will improve the situation.

@UniTrader
(the other reason is they dont want to just add some meshes, but want to add some functionality there you dont have on the Landing pad, too (like useable Control Pannels for example)
What could be the purpose of such Control Pannels? Some action happens when you press something? Similar to the skunk button? If so - then for Ego it should be very easy to do.

jeroll3d
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu, 26. Jun 08, 02:28
x3ap

Post by jeroll3d » Fri, 19. Sep 14, 13:46

Oh lord!

Magnific work guys!!!

Unitrader, yeah

The Sun and shadows is a problem in litle skunk too. The size of objects influences the shadow generated by a point of light, no?
Entusiasta da série X3! The best game.

Sparky Sparkycorp
Moderator (English)
Moderator (English)
Posts: 8074
Joined: Tue, 30. Mar 04, 12:28
x4

Post by Sparky Sparkycorp » Fri, 19. Sep 14, 13:56

Litauen wrote: @UniTrader
(the other reason is they dont want to just add some meshes, but want to add some functionality there you dont have on the Landing pad, too (like useable Control Pannels for example)
What could be the purpose of such Control Pannels? Some action happens when you press something? Similar to the skunk button? If so - then for Ego it should be very easy to do.
I don't know if it would be possible but seeing as the model seems to be included, is there any chance the Skunk's pop-up side menu could be assessable (assuming it offered something interesting)?

I've never hacked a console but aparently they look like this:
http://x-rebirth.wikia.com/wiki/File:Hackable_01.jpg

Perhaps they could be an interesting alternative to the skunk button in some cases.

Return to “X Rebirth - Scripts and Modding”